Old School vs. New School Ryder Cup Marketing

Okay… I’m officially declaring this Ryder Cup week. With golf’s biggest event taking place in our backyard at Medinah Country Club, a lot of my interest is focused out there but I’m still finding blog material.

My wife, daughter and I made a family outing of it at yesterday’s practice round. I was struck by something. It’s a blending of old and new school.

Old school vs. new school

Golf loves its traditions, so head to a major tournament like this and you’ll find manual scoreboards. At the same time, you’re find huge video boards all over the course.

While walking the course yesterday I downloaded a Ryder Cup iPhone app, allowing me to see real-time scoring and video right on my phone.

Don’t get left behind

My point… you can find a place for tradition, but at the end of the day you better be on cutting-edge. Your PR/marketing/event planning better reflect what consumers are demanding.

In other words, you better be producing video.

–Tony Gnau

One response to “Old School vs. New School Ryder Cup Marketing

  1. Pingback: Ryder Cup App Leading Businesses Right Direction | T60 Productions – THE BLOG

Leave a comment